high-energy group | MoCA | GOTO | MINBAR | MIT/RXTE burst catalog | HEAT | vcard | CV | wiki

Wed Oct 04, 2017

2017 Nobel Prize in Physics to LIGO team

Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne were last night awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize for Physics, "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves". This award caps a terrific year for the collaboration, which (by my observation) has scooped pretty much all the major science awards. Here at Monash we're celebrating our involvement in the project, and looking forward to the (hopefully many) surprises in store for the future.

Labels: 2017, /press